Skip to main content
Kareo and PatientPop are now Tebra. Becoming Tebra will take time and we appreciate your patience as we transition to the new brand experience.Learn More
Tebra Help Center

Promoting Interoperability

Updated: 06/23/2023|Views: 16808

25% of Final Score

Clinicians are required to use a 2015 Edition/Cures Act Update CEHRT and will be scored based on performance in the Promoting Interoperability (PI) Objectives and one mandatory objective (Protect Patient Health Information). Measures in this category must be reported for a minimum of 90 days and up to a full year.

Clinicians who have a Special Status, such as Small Practice or Hospital-Based are exempt from reporting Promoting Interoperability data for the 2023 Performance Year. In addition, providers such as Clinical Social workers, Physical Therapists and a few others, also exempt. To see the full list, go to QPP-Promoting Interoperability.

2023 Promoting Interoperability Objectives and Measures

Objective *Measures Maximum Points
e-Prescribing (eRX) e-Prescribing 10 points
Query of PDMP 10 points
Health Information Exchange (HIE) Option 1:
  • Support Electronic Referral Loops by Sending Health Information
  • Support Electronic Referral Loops by Receiving & Reconciling Health Information
15 points each
Option 2:
  • HIE Bi-Directional Exchange
30 points
Option 3:
  • Enabling Exchange under TEFCA
30 points
Provider to Patient Exchange Provide Patients Electronic Access to their Health Information 25 points
Public Health and Clinical Data Exchange Report to both registries:
  • Immunization Registry Reporting
  • Electronic Case Reporting
25 points
Option to report one of the following Public Health Agency or clinical data registry measures:
  • Public Health Registry Reporting, OR
  • Clinical Data Registry Reporting, OR
  • Syndromic Surveillance Reporting
5 bonus points
Protect Patient Health Information **A Security Risk Assessment is mandatory, but will not be scored. However, failure to complete will rate the entire Promoting Interoperability performance category as a zero (0). Mandatory
*A High Priority Practice SAFER Assessment is mandatory, but will not be scored.  A response of Yes or No is required. Mandatory

The score is capped at 100 points, at which point a clinician achieves full credit for the PI category (25%). There are no thresholds to meet, instead eligible clinicians earn points based on their performance in the following measures:

*Exclusions are available for multiple measures. Review each guide to determine if an exclusion applies to the eligible clinician. Or, from the Medicare Promoting Interoperability dashboard, click the Claim Exclusions button and review each available exclusion.  Select the exclusions the clinician is eligible for.

**Clinicians are required to complete a Security Risk Assessment and will have to answer a “Yes” or “No” during their MIPS attestation.  A “Yes” is required to meet the Promoting Interoperability performance category.

In addition to submitting measures during the MIPS attestation, clinicians must provide your EHR’s CMS Certification number Tebra CEHRT ID, and submit “yes” to:

  • Prevention of Information Blocking Attestation;
  • The ONC Direct Review Attestation;
  • Security risk analysis measure; and
  • The High Priority Practice SAFER Assessment(a "no" will also satisfy this measure)

Learn more about the MIPS Promoting Interoperability Dashboard.